

AGENDA

South Australian Local Government Financial Management Group Executive Committee

19 November 2021 At 9:30am – City of Onkaparinga (McLaren Vale Information Centre) and Via Zoom Virtual Conferencing

1. Present

Executive Committee

Office Bearers:

- Elizabeth Williams (President), Alexandrina Council
- Alexander Oulianoff (Vice President), Mount Barker District Council
- David Harman (Treasurer), City of Marion
- Clive Hempel (Secretary), Mid Murray Council

Members:

- Alexander Brown, City of Unley
- Angela Papatheodorakis, City of Port Adelaide Enfield
- Annette Martin, City of Charles Sturt
- Chris Birch, City of Prospect
- Craig Mudge, District Council of Mount Remarkable
- Grant Jennings, Whyalla City Council
- Julie Scoggins, City of Mount Gambier
- Kate George, City of Salisbury
- Kellie-Knight Stacey, City of Victor Harbor
- Kevin Carter, City of Onkaparinga
- Lisa Gilmartin, City of West Torrens
- Luke Harris, City of Mitcham
- Mark Lague, The Barossa Council
- Mike Carey, Adelaide Hills Council
- Rebecca Baines, City of Tea Tree Gully
- Samantha Grieve, City of Playford
- Simon Zbierski, City of Campbelltown

2. Apologies

• Rajith Udugampola, Adelaide Plains Council

Proxies:

Nil

Observers/Guests:

• Rebecca Muller, LGA

Secretariat:

• Patricia Coonan, TPS

It is important to note that on occasion it may be necessary for the Executive Committee to discuss an item in confidence and in those circumstances, observers and guests will be asked to leave the room for that item.

3. Presentations

Nil

4. Confirmation of Minutes

Recommendation: That the minutes of the meeting held on 29 October 2021 be confirmed as a true and correct record.

5. Projects/Work Groups – Update/Status

- 5.1 Asset Management Grant Jennings (Chairperson), Luke Harris (Deputy Chairperson)
- 5.2 Costing Principles Alex Oulianoff (Chairperson), Mark Lague (Deputy Chairperson)

5.3 Events & Membership – Elizabeth Williams (Chairperson), Alex Oulianoff (Deputy Chairperson)

Events and Membership			
Action Items	Meeting	Responsible	Status
Prepare an email for review of the President to be emailed to all on the Buddy List outlining the Buddy Program and any upcoming events.	28/02/20	Secretariat	To be completed once the new Executive Committee is confirmed at the AGM.

5.4 Financial Management Framework – Mark Lague (Chairperson), Clive Hempel (Deputy Chairperson)

5.5 Local Government Price Index – Chris Birch (Chairperson), Michael Carey (Deputy Chairperson)

Local Government Price Index			
Action Items	Meeting	Responsible	Status
Work on a set of definitions for data that feeds into the LGPI and supply it to the Grants Commission for their consideration.	21/09/18	LGPI Workgroup	The workgroup is discussing the six issues put forward. The Commission is doing a lot of work on data validation.
Contact the Grants Commission to see if there is a guide for the return for how the administration allocations are being entered (operating expenses section). It would be valuable to have a consistent approach to provide to the Grants Commission.	25/10/19	LGPI Workgroup	Chris will discuss this with Peter Ilee.
Further follow up around a review of the Purpose Function Codes.	25/06/21	LGPI Workgroup	

5.6 Local Government Reform – Elizabeth Williams (Chairperson), Kate George (Deputy Chairperson)

5.7 Long Term Financial Plan – Kate George (Chairperson), Samantha Grieve (Deputy Chairperson)

Long Term Financial Plan			
Action Items	Meeting	Responsible	Status
Speak with LG Solutions regarding updates to the instructions for the model per the latest updates made.	29/05/20	Kate George	In progress.
Review the funding sustainability ratios and the funding plan.	29/10/21	LTFP Workgroup	

5.8 Marketing & Communications – David Harman (Chairperson), Kevin Carter (Deputy Chairperson)

Planning Portal			
Action Items	Meeting	Responsible	Status
 Outstanding issue with PlanSA regarding to the Planning Portal: 1. Required enhancement present reconciliation process of the PlanSA EFT Remittance payments received by Councils. 	25/06/21	Workgroup	
 Only method of on-line payment being Credit Card (BPay, Direct Debit – as per other Government payments eg ESL), requiring Council to by default be the only other method of payment. 			

5.9 Rating and Valuation – Simon Zbierski (Chairperson), Luke Harris (Deputy Chairperson)

There is no update for this meeting.

5.10 Student Placement Program – Luke Harris (Chairperson), Annette Martin (Deputy Chairperson)

There is no update for this meeting.

6. Treasurer's Report

Recommendation:

That the Executive Committee notes the report.

Finance			
Action Items	Meeting	Responsible	Status
Organise for the Executive Committee Office Bearers to be signatories on the NAB	25/09/20	Treasurer	Forms have been signed and to be submitted to
account.			NAB.
President and Secretary to take ID's into NAB	30/07/21	President &	
to get a NAB ID. Signatories can then be		Secretary	
added to the account.			

7. Other Business

7.1 COVID Policies (Annette Martin)

Other Business			
Action Items	Meeting	Responsible	Status
LGA Circular regarding the benefits of membership.	30/07/21	Secretariat	Add to newsletter also.
Email proxy details to the Secretariat	30/07/21	All Committee Members	

8. Confidential Discussion Items

Nil

9. Next Meeting

28 January 2021 – Local Government Association.

10. Close

Standing and Future Items	Meeting	Frequency
Presentation from the Local Government Grants Commission	April	Annually
Sponsorship Proposal for the next financial year	April/May	Annually
AGM Matters and Recommendations:	June	Annually
Constitution Draft		
 Membership Guidelines Draft for adoption 		
 Membership Fees Recommendation to AGM 		
 Honorary & Life Member Nominations 		
Auditor Approach Recommendation		
Executive Committee Nominations		
Davin Lambert – LGFA update	July	Annually
Constitution Recommendation to AGM		
 Auditor Appointment Recommendation to AGM 		
 Honorary & Life Member Recommendation 		
New Committee Members	September	Annually
Workgroup allocations		
 Proxy/Deputy Chairperson for each of the Workgroups and 		
Executive Committee meetings		
 Meeting dates for next 12 months 		
 Event registration fees for the financial year 		
Buddy List	October	Annually

For further information regarding topics raised at the FMG Executive Committee meetings, please see contact details below:

FMG President, Elizabeth Williams: <u>elizabeth.williams@alexandrina.sa.gov.au</u>

- Section Asset Management Workgroup Chairperson, Grant Jennings: grant.jennings@whyalla.sa.gov.au
- > Costing Principles Workgroup Chairperson, Alex Oulianoff: <u>aoulianoff@dcmtbarker.sa.gov.au</u>
- Events & Membership Workgroup Chairperson, Elizabeth Williams: elizabeth.williams@alexandrina.sa.gov.au
- Fees and Charges Workgroup Chairperson, Elizabeth Williams: elizabeth.williams@alexandrina.sa.gov.au
- Financial Management Framework Workgroup Chairperson, Mark Lague: <u>mlague@barossa.sa.gov.au</u>
- Local Government Price Index Workgroup Chairperson, Chris Birch: <u>chris.birch@prospect.sa.gov.au</u>

- Local Government Reform Workgroup Chairperson, Elizabeth Williams: elizabeth.williams@alexandrina.sa.gov.au
- Long Term Financial Plan Workgroup Chairperson, Kate George: kgeorge@salisbury.sa.gov.au
- Marketing & Communications Workgroup Chairperson, David Harman: <u>david.harman@marion.sa.gov.au</u>
- Planning Portal Contacts: Clive Hempel and Samantha Grieve: <u>chempel@mid-murray.sa.gov.au</u>; <u>sgrieve@playford.sa.gov.au</u>
- Rating and Valuation Workgroup Chairperson, Simon Zbierski: <u>szbierski@campbelltown.sa.gov.au</u>
- Student Placement Program Workgroup Chairperson: Luke Harris: <u>harris@mitchamcouncil.sa.gov.au</u>